A bachelor’s degree consists of three parts. The first is “general education,” which consists of courses in English composition, humanities/fine arts, social/behavioral sciences and natural sciences/ mathematics designed to give the student a broad academic foundation. General education classes are typically taken during the freshman and sophomore years.

The second part of a bachelor’s degree is a “major.” This set of courses is designed to make the student knowledgeable in a particular field of study. Typically, these courses account for one to two years of study and are usually taken in the junior and senior years.

The third part of a bachelor’s degree is “elective” coursework. Electives allow students to broaden their academic horizon and explore subjects of interest. These courses may be taken at any time.