Lenoir Community College offers an Auctioneering Course designed to train individuals in the skills needed to become licensed auctioneers. This 96-hour course is accredited by the North Carolina Auctioneer Licensing Board. Satisfactory completion of the course will make students eligible to take the North Carolina Auctioneering Examination.
CURRENT COURSES OFFERED
No person shall be licensed as an auctioneer if the person:
- is under 18 years of age;
- is not a high school graduate or the equivalent;
- has within the preceding five years pleaded guilty to, entered a plea of nolo contendere or been convicted of any felony, or committed or been convicted of any act involving fraud or moral turpitude;
- has had an auctioneer, apprentice auctioneer, or auction firm license revoked; or
- has, within the preceding five years, committed any act that constitutes grounds for license suspension or revocation under N.C.G.S. 85 B or 21 NCAC 4B.
An “Auctioneer” is defined as a person, not otherwise exempt from N.C.G.S. 85B, who conducts or offers to conduct auctions in the State of North Carolina. This is an individual who in addition to calling bids, contracts for auctions, accepts consignments of items for sale at auction, advertises an auction, offers items for sale at auction, accepts payment or disburse monies for items sold at auction, or otherwise, solicits, arranges, sponsors, or manages an auction or holds themselves out as an auctioneer.
- The course textbook will be provided by the instructor.
Payment should be made within 48 hours of the course start date. Payment can be made with one of the following methods:
- Check or Money Order (Please make payable to Lenoir Community College)
- Cash (Exact cash is required)
- Contact the program coordinator listed below
Students can register in one of three ways:
- In Person: See office location of the program coordinator listed below.
- Phone: Contact the program coordinator listed below.